h1

Great Expectations

January 3, 2011

Here is the official unveiling of my 2011 motto (*ba ba daaaaa*): Great Expectations. (that was supposed to be a trumpet sound)

Not to sound too much like the slogan Kohl’s (“Expect Great Things”), but I want 2011 to be full of expectation. Expectations for myself, expectations for what may come, not giving up hope (in any situation), and looking forward to what God has in store for me.

I was having a difficult time coming up with this year’s motto, but I got the idea when I recently read Steve Harvey’s Straight Talk, No Chaser: How to Find, Keep, and Understand a Man, I knew that’s what I wanted for this year. First of all, Steve Harvey is a genius. The first book of his that I read Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man really helped me understand men and dating in a new way. Above that though (because I don’t want my motto to completely revolve around men and/or dating; if a man comes out of the deal, well, that would just be great), in his second book Straight Talk… he references Luke 12:48, “To whom much is given, much is required,” and urges his readers that “this needs to be your motto… you have to let him know that you have a lot to offer…” A word of advice that I need to be reminded of every day.

I don’t really know what 2011 has in store, but if I focus on hope and expecting a lot of myself (not giving up,not getting lazy, etc.), I feel like I will at least be able to expect great things. And hey, maybe I’ll have extra special luck when shopping at Kohl’s too.

One comment

  1. Love your new motto sweetie!!



Leave a Reply

