h1

What’s the motto with you?

January 3, 2009

Sorry, lame joke, couldn’t resist. 

Anyways, here’s the highly anticipated reveal of my 2009 motto.  *cue trumpets and angel choir*

One Day at a Time in 2009.  There you have it, folks.  Yes, I’m aware I’m borrowing this slogan from the AA and Al-Anon programs, for its use in recovery, but also I think it will be very applicable to other aspects of my life as well.  I will write more in detail about what I’m aiming for, but for now, I will just copy what was written in the first page (for January 1st) in the One Day at a Time in Al-Anon book that I was given in Antigua, it is a great summary of how I would like to focus my life in 2009.  Plus, it even kind of rhymes! :)

This year is a book of clean blank pages on which I will write a record of my experiences and my growth through the daily use of the Al-Anon idea. I turned to Al-Anon as a last resort because I was living with a problem that was too much for me. I know I can deal with this problem through applying Al-Anon to myself, to my thoughts and my actions, every day. If I allow myself to be influenced by what the [addict] says and does, it will make blots and smears on the pages of my year. This I will try to avoid at all costs.

Today’s Reminder: I can live my life only one day at a time. Perhaps my confusion and despair are so great that I will have to take it one hour at a time, or one minute at a time, reminding myself constantly that I have authority over no life but my own.

“Realizing that nothing can hurt me while I lean upon [God], I ask to be guided through the hours and minutes of each day. Let me remind myself to bring every problem to Him for I know He will show me the way I must go.”

2 comments

  1. Awsome ;) my uncle is a major Al-Anon member. I swear he never goes a day without a meeting, or at least helping someone. He lives in Port Angeles, Wash. where he recovered in the wilderness on his own, he figured it was the only way to battle his problem. He even met the guy from “into the wild” there, which I personally think is very cool.

    Anyways, I see Al-Anon and I get all excited…

    I also have “living in love” on my bookshelf, good stuff…


  2. I don’t know you, but I just stumbled across your blog. I feel you’ll be fine in 2009. Just remain strong and keep site of your daily short-term goal.

    Be well,
    Cyn



Leave a Reply

