h1

Looking Back on Moving Forward

January 2, 2008

With the success of Bold in 2006, I wanted to keep advancing in a positive direction, keep challenging myself, and not get too lazy (in many aspects of my life, not just in physical activity – or the lack thereof), so I chose Moving Forward in 2007 as my motto for the year.  With the new year now at hand, I thought I should take a moment in retrospect and see how much I did or didn’t, in fact, move forward.

  • I moved into my own place in February.  A pretty big step forward.  I’m more independent, responsible (kinda), close to work, and far, far away from most everything else
  • Traveled to Washington, D.C. in January, Arizona in March, Florida in November
  • Continued working with the youth group at Hope, as well as meeting with Bible study girls weekly, bringing great spiritual growth
  • Made strong attempts to move forward with several male prospects, with little to no success (you can’t say I didn’t try!)
  • Invested in old and new friendships as much as possible
  • Completed my first full year as a full-time employee at Bethel. Made good work connections, became a more vital part of the team, and though being told I was just the “overflow designer” by a coworker (not my favorite day at work) and still sharing a smaller-than-acceptable office with my boss, I grew to be more independent and self-sufficient which always feels good, plus I laughed a lot and got to play with fonts every day. What’s not to love?
  • Last but not least, if we’re going to get technical, a lot of moving forward occurred in my car. I drove over 15,000 miles this year. A little surprising/disappointing for only being 2 miles from work.

So, overall, it was just dece. I think I had too many high expectations, and though it was motivating to push myself and good for long-term goal setting, it was probably too vague and there just wasn’t enough bang for the buck.  Without sounding like too much of a pessimist, I think it was almost easier to see where I came up empty, you know, see the failed attempts and disappointments.  Maybe I’m just too hard on myself. 

Lucky for me, Bold and Moving Forward are technically over, but I have learned a lot about myself, God, and others through these simple little mantras.  This year will be all about my favorite word, love.  Living in Love in 2008.  Loving myself (by taking better care of myself and learning to be confident in who I am), loving God (I mean, really, he deserves it), and loving others (whether or not you deserve it).  I’m really excited about it.  Plus, I’m a hopeless romantic (believe it or not), so here’s to hoping that the Man of my Dreams will reveal himself this year.  We’ll see about that, Doc.

That leads me to my conclusion, because part of taking care of myself means going to bed at a more reasonable hour, and that hour is quickly approaching.  Until next time. ♥

2 comments

  1. 2007 was awesome. especially DC.


  2. You can’t heave stadium-sized expectations on a year before it happens. You’ll only be disappointed.

    That’s not to say you shouldn’t have goals – you should always make aspirations that you are trying to reach – but you can’t look back and only see the things that didn’t happen.

    If everything happened today, you wouldn’t have anything to work for tomorrow.

    Disappointment and failure is always easier to see/recall than success, but it’s the ability of how we deal with those disappointments that truly makes life great.



Leave a Reply

